MDU PG Courses Calculation of SGPA and CGPA Maharshi Dayanand University

(Last Updated On: 10/01/2020)

MDU PG Courses Calculation of SGPA and CGPA  Maharshi Dayanand University is given here

Regulations for CHOICE BASED CREDIT SYSTEM (CBCS)  for PG degree course applicable from batch 2018-19


A unit by which the course work is measured. It is a weightage given to a subject/ paper/ course depending on number of hours given for a course/subject/paper in a semester.

Letter Grade 

Grade Letter is a measure of performance of a student in a paper/ subject depending on percentage of actual marks secured by a student in a paper. 

Grade Point

 It is a number from 0 to 10 allotted to grade letter

Credit points

It is the product of grade point and number of credits for a course. 

Maharshi Dayanand University (MDU) PG Calculation of SGPA and CGPA

Semester Grade Point Average (SGPA)

Is a performance of a student in ith semester

Formulae for calculating SGPA

SGPA (Si) = ∑(Ci x Gi) / ∑Ci 


Ci is the number of credits of the ith course and 

Gi is the grade point scored by the student in the ith course.  

Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA)

Is a measure of the performance of a student in all Semesters.

Formulae for calculating CGPA

CGPA = ∑(Ci x Si) / ∑ Ci 


Si is the SGPA of the ith semester and 

Ci is the total number of credits in that semester.


Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak (Haryana)

You may be interested in

University Link

For exact interpretation, clarification and current rules and regulations in force contact  

Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak (Haryana)

Read disclaimer.

(Visited 2,234 times, 1 visits today)

Please rate this

Leave a Comment